Categories
Countries

Belgium

Belgium became independent from the Netherlands in 1830; it was occupied by Germany during World Wars I and II. The country prospered in the past half century as a modern, technologically advanced European state and member of NATO and the EU. Political divisions between the Dutch-speaking Flemings of the north and the French-speaking Walloons of the south have led in recent years to constitutional amendments granting these regions formal recognition and autonomy. Its capital, Brussels, is home to numerous international organizations including the EU and NATO.

Tourism Information...
Belgium POrtal
www.belgium.be/en
 
www.belgium-tourism.be
belgium.visit
www.visitbelgium.com
Belgium the place_edited-1

Belgium the place_edited-1
www.belgiumtheplaceto.be
The Best of Belgium...
Belgium's Most Popular Sights...

Here is a list of some of the most interesting and visited places. Cities or areas listed will always have more than just one thing see and do. With the popular cities or areas we list some of the best known, which should go on everyone’s, must see list when they visit.  

  • Antwerp
    • Grote Markt
  • Bastogne
  • Boullion Castle
  • Bruges
    • Old Town & Belfry
    • Church of the Holy Blood
  • Brussels
    • Atomium
    • Grand Place
  • Ghent
    • Gravensteen
    • Old Town
  • St. Peter’s Church & Stadhuis-Leuven
  • Mechelen
  • Mons Old Town
  • Meuse Valley-Namur
  • Semois Valley
  • Tournai Cathedral
  • Flanders Battlefields-Ypres

Flag_of_BelgiumProvidences of Belgium…

Flag_of_Antwerp.svg
Antwerp
Flag_of_Oost-Vlaanderen.svg
East Flanders
Flag_of_Flemish-Brabant.svg
Flemish Brabant
75px-Flag_of_Hainaut.svg
Hainaut
Flag_of_the_Province_of_Liège.svg
Liège
Flag_of_Limburg_(Belgium).svg
Limburg
100px-Flag_of_the_Province_of_Luxembourg.svg
Luxembourg
100px-Flag_province_namur.svg
Namur
75px-Drapeau_Province_BE_Brabant_Wallon.svg
Walloon Brabant
100px-Flag_of_West_Flanders.svg
West Flanders
 

Country Information...
 
Capital Brussels
Largest City Brussels
Government Federal parliamentary democracy under a constitutional monarch
Currency Euro (€)
Area 30,510km² – ranked 140th water: 6.4%
Population 11,409,077 (July 2016 est.) ranked 78th
Language Dutch (official) 60%, French (official) 40%, German (official) less than 1%
Ethnic Groups Flemish 58%, Walloon 31%, mixed or other 11%
Religion Roman Catholic 75%, other (includes Protestant) 25%
Electricity 230V, 50Hz (European plug)
Country code +32
Internet TLD .be
Time Zone CET (UTC+1)
Drives on the Right
Anthem The Brabançonne
Motto  “Eendracht maakt macht” (Dutch) “L’union fait la force” (French)“Einigkeit macht stark” (German)”Strength through Unity” (literally, “Unity makes strength”)
Monarch King Philippe
Prime Minister Sophie Wilmes
Holidays and Observances in Belgium in 2020
Date   Name Type Details
Jan 1 Wednesday New Year’s Day National holiday  
Jan 6 Monday Epiphany Observance  
Feb 14 Friday Valentine’s Day Observance  
Mar 20 Friday March Equinox Season  
Mar 29 Sunday Daylight Saving Time starts Clock change/Daylight Saving Time  
Apr 10 Friday Good Friday Bank holiday  
Apr 12 Sunday Easter Sunday National holiday  
Apr 13 Monday Easter Monday National holiday  
May 1 Friday Labor Day / May Day National holiday  
May 8 Friday Iris Day Regional government holiday Brussels
May 21 Thursday Ascension Day National holiday  
May 22 Friday Day after Ascension Day Bank holiday  
May 31 Sunday Whit Sunday National holiday  
Jun 1 Monday Whit Monday National holiday  
Jun 20 Saturday June Solstice Season  
Jul 11 Saturday Day of the Flemish Community Regional government holiday Antwerp, East Flanders, Flemish Brabant, Limburg, West Flanders
Jul 21 Tuesday Belgian National Day National holiday  
Aug 15 Saturday Assumption of Mary National holiday  
Sep 22 Tuesday September Equinox Season  
Sep 27 Sunday Day of the French Community Regional government holiday Hainaut, Liège, Luxembourg, Namur, Walloon Brabant
Sep 27 Sunday Day of the Walloon Region Regional government holiday Namur
Oct 25 Sunday Daylight Saving Time ends Clock change/Daylight Saving Time  
Oct 31 Saturday Halloween Observance  
Nov 1 Sunday All Saints’ Day National holiday  
Nov 11 Wednesday Armistice Day National holiday  
Nov 15 Sunday Day of the German-speaking Community Regional government holiday Liège*
Dec 6 Sunday St. Nicholas Day Observance  
Dec 21 Monday December Solstice Season  
Dec 24 Thursday Christmas Eve Observance  
Dec 25 Friday Christmas Day National holiday  
Dec 26 Saturday Boxing Day Bank holiday  
Dec 31 Thursday New Year’s Eve Observance