“Information for Your Destination”

United Kingdom

The United Kingdom has historically played a leading role in developing parliamentary democracy and in advancing literature and science. At its zenith in the 19th century, the British Empire stretched over one-fourth of the earth’s surface. The first half of the 20th century saw the UK’s strength seriously depleted in two world wars and the Irish Republic’s withdrawal from the union. The second half witnessed the dismantling of the Empire and the UK rebuilding itself into a modern and prosperous European nation. As one of five permanent members of the UN Security Council and a founding member of NATO and the Commonwealth, the UK pursues a global approach to foreign policy. The Scottish Parliament, the National Assembly for Wales, and the Northern Ireland Assembly were established in 1998.

The UK has been an active member of the EU since its accession in 1973, although it chose to remain outside the Economic and Monetary Union. However, motivated in part by frustration at a remote bureaucracy in Brussels and massive migration into the country, UK citizens on 23 June 2016 narrowly voted to leave the EU. The UK is scheduled to depart the EU on 31 January 2020, but negotiations on the future EU-UK economic and security relationship will continue throughout 2020 and potentially beyond.

England Tourism Information

Official Tourism Site

Other Sites

The Best of England

Here is a break down of some of the most interesting and visited places. Cities or areas listed will always have more than just one thing see and do. With the popular cities or areas we list some of the best known, which should go on everyone’s, must see list when they visit.    

The British Museum

Tower of London

Buckingham Palace

St. Paul’s Cathedral

The National Gallery

Victoria and Albert Museum

Big Ben

Westminster Abbey

Hyde Park / Kensington Gardens

The Shard

Natural History Museum

Palace of Westminster

Borough Market

Trafalgar Square

Tate Britain

Tate Modern

The British Library

Kensington Palace

National Portrait Gallery

Camden Market

Museum of London

Oxford 9

Piccadilly Circus

Regents Park / London Zoo

Royal Albert Hall

St. James Park

Serpentine Gallery

The Wallace Collection

Somerset House


London Transport Museum

Sky Garden

Tower Bridge

Churchill War Rooms

Sir John Soane’s Museum

Portobello Road Market

Leadenhall Market

Covent Garden


Imperial War Museum

Greenwich ( National Maritime Museum, Cutty Shark, Royal Observatory. Greenwich Park}

Richmond ( Hampton Court, Kew Royal Botanic Gardens, Richmond Park)

The London Eye

Canterbury Cathedral

Dover Castle

Hever Castle & Gardens

Leeds Castle

Lincoln Cathedral

Hadrian’s Wall

Alnwick Castle

Bamburg Castle

York (York Minster,

Fountains Abbey

Yorkshire Dales National Park

National Railway Museum

North York Moors National Park

Sherwood Forest

The Regions of the United Kingdom…

The England, Northern Ireland, Scotland and Wales make up the United Kingdom. Within those are regions then sub-regions called counties and under those districts and unitary authorities.

East of England

BedfordshireDistricts: Bedford, Central Bedfordshire, Luton – Cities: Luton, Bedord, Leighton Buzzard
CambridgeshireDistricts: City of Peterborough, Finland, Huntingtonshire, East Cambridgeshire, South Cambridgeshire, City of Cambridge – Cities, Cambridge, Peterborough
Suffolk – Districts:

East Midlands

Counties: Derbyshire, Leicestershire, Lincolnshire ( except North and North East Lincolnshire), Northamptonshire, Nottinghamshire, Rutland

Greater London

Ceremonial County: City of London
Boroughs: Barking & Dagenham, Barnet, Bexley, Brent, Bromley, Camden, Croydon, Ealing, Enfield, Greenwich, Hackney, Hammersmith & Fulham, Haringey, Harrow, Hillington, Hounslow, Islington, Kensington & Chelsea, Kingston upon Thames, Lambeth, Lewisham, Merton, Newham, Redbridge, Richmond upon Thames, Southwark, Sutton, Tower Hamlets, Waltham Forest, Wandsworth, Westminster

North East England

Counties: County Durham, Northumberland, Tyne and Wear, North Yorkshire ( Tees Valley)

North West England

Counties: Cheshire, Cumbria, Greater Manchester,  Lancashire, Merseyside 

South East England

Counties: Berkshire, Buckinghamshire, East Sussex, Hampshire Isle of Wight, Kent, Oxfordshire, Surrey, West Sussex 

South West England

Counties: Bristol, Cornwall, Devon, Dorset, Gloucestershire, Somerset, Wiltshire

West Midlands

Counties: Herefordshire, Shropshire , Staffordshire, Warwickshire, West Midlands, Worcestershire

Yorkshire & the Humber

Counties: East Riding of Yorkshire, North Yorkshire (except areas that are part of the Tees Valley), South Yorkshire, West Yorkshire, Lincolnshire (North and North East Lincolnshire)

Northern Ireland

Counties: Antrim, Armagh, Down, Fermanagh, Derry / Londonderry, Tyrone


Aberdeen City, Aberdeenshire, Angus, Argyil and Bute, City of Edinburgh, Clackmannanshire, Dumfries and Galloway, Dundee City, East Ayrshire, East Dumbartonshire, East Lothian, East Renfrewshire, Falkirk, Fife, Galsgow City, Highland, Inverclyde, Midlotia, Moray, Na h-Eileanan Sar, North Ayrshire, North Lanarkshire, Orkney, Perth and Kinross, Renfrewshire, Scottish Borders, Shetland, South Ayrshire, South Lanarkshire, Stirling, West Dunbartonshire, West Lothian.


Carmarthenshire (Sir Gaerfyrddin), Ceredigion, Denbighshire (Sir Ddinbych), Flintshire (Sir y Fflint), Gwynedd, Isle of Anglesey (Ynys Môn), Monmouthshire (Sir Fynwy), Pembrokeshire (Sir Benfro), Powys
Blaenau Gwent, Bridgend (Pen-y-bont ar Ogwr),
Caerphilly (Caerffili), Cardiff (Caerdydd), Conwy, Merthyr Tydfil (Merthyr Tudful), Neath Port Talbot (Castell-nedd Port Talbot), Newport (Casnewydd), Rhondda Cynon Taf, Swansea (Abertawe), Torfaen (Tor-faen), Vale of Glamorgan (Bro Morgannwg), Wrexham (Wrecsam)

Northern Ireland Tourism Information

Official Tourism Site

The Best of Northern Ireland…

Scotland Tourism Information

Official Tourism Site

Other Sites

🏴󠁧󠁢󠁳󠁣󠁴󠁿 The Best of Scotland

Wales Tourism Information

Official Tourism Site

🏴󠁧󠁢󠁷󠁬󠁳󠁿 The Best of Wales…

United Kingdom Dependencies …

🇬🇮 Gibraltar

🇬🇬 Guernsey

🇮🇲 Isle of Man

🇯🇪 Jersey

🇬🇧 United Kingdom Country Information…