Categories
Countries

San Marino

Repubblica di San Marino

Most Serene Republic of San Marino

Tourism Information...
www.visitsanmarino.com
The Best of San Marino...
CITIES
MUSEUMS
VILLAGES & TOWNS
WORLD HERITAGE SITES
FOOD
CASTLES / CHÂTEAUS / PALACES
TOURS
TRAINS
INTERNATIONAL AIRPORTS
PUBLIC TRANSIT
 Most Popular Sights...

Here is a list of some of the most interesting and visited places. Cities or areas listed will always have more than just one thing see and do. With the popular cities or areas we list some of the best known, which should go on everyone’s, must see list when they visit.  

  • Centro Storico Di San Marino
  • Cesta Tower
  • Guaita Fortress
  • Mount Titan
  • Palazzo Pubblico
  • Piazza della Liberta
Country Information...
Geographically the third smallest state in Europe (after the Holy See and Monaco), San Marino also claims to be the world’s oldest republic. According to tradition, it was founded by a Christian stonemason named MARINUS in A.D. 301. San Marino’s foreign policy is aligned with that of the EU, although it is not a member; social and political trends in the republic track closely with those of its larger neighbor, Italy.
Capital San Marino City
Largest City Dogana
Government Unitary parliamentary Multi-party constitutional republic
Currency Euro (€)
Area 61.2 kmranked 227th
Population 33,285 (July 2016 est.) ranked 216th
Language Italian
Ethnic Groups Sammarinese, Italian
Religion Roman Catholic
Electricity 230V, 50Hz (European or Italian plug)
Country code +378
Internet TLD .sm
Time Zone CET (UTC+1) / Summer CEST (UTC+2)
Drives on the Right
Anthem Inno Nazionale della Repubblica “National Anthem of the Republic”
Motto Libertas “Freedom”
Regent Captains Mimma Zavoli & Vanessa D’Ambrosio
Holidays and Observances in San Marino in 2020
Date   Name Type
Jan 1 Wednesday New Year’s Day National holiday
Jan 6 Monday Epiphany National holiday
Feb 5 Wednesday Feast of St Agatha National holiday
Mar 20 Friday March Equinox Season
Mar 25 Wednesday Anniversary of the Arengo National holiday
Mar 29 Sunday Daylight Saving Time starts Clock change/Daylight Saving Time
Apr 1 Wednesday Investiture Ceremony of the Captains Regent 1 National holiday
Apr 10 Friday Good Friday Observance
Apr 11 Saturday Holy Saturday Observance
Apr 12 Sunday Easter Sunday National holiday
Apr 13 Monday Easter Monday National holiday
May 1 Friday Labour Day/May Day National holiday
Jun 11 Thursday Corpus Christi National holiday
Jun 20 Saturday June Solstice Season
Jul 28 Tuesday Anniversary of the Fall of the Fascist Government National holiday
Aug 15 Saturday Assumption of Mary National holiday
Sep 3 Thursday The Feast of St Marinus and Republic Day National holiday
Sep 22 Tuesday September Equinox Season
Oct 1 Thursday Investiture Ceremony of the Captains Regent 2 National holiday
Oct 25 Sunday Daylight Saving Time ends Clock change/Daylight Saving Time
Nov 1 Sunday All Saints’ Day National holiday
Nov 2 Monday All Saints’ Day National holiday
Dec 8 Tuesday Feast of the Immaculate Conception National holiday
Dec 21 Monday December Solstice Season
Dec 24 Thursday Christmas Eve Observance
Dec 25 Friday Christmas Day National holiday
Dec 26 Saturday Boxing Day National holiday
Dec 31 Thursday New Year’s Eve National holiday