About Europe

Languages of Europe

There are over 80 languages use in Europe with every country having an official language and some secondary ones. Some of these secondary languages are recognized as regional dialects only.  European countries recognize 23 total official languages.

Languages used mostly use are of the Indo-European family with just several languages from the non-Indo-European family. Of the Indo-European languages English is the most common language used throughout most of Europe. Other widely used languages are French, German, Italian and Spanish.

Each country has it’s official language and several countries have two or more. Belgium has Dutch and French as it’s official languages while Switzerland recognized four. Each official country language is more prevalent in one area than another.

There are also regional languages spoken in small areas throughout Europe. These languages can be official languages of the region along with the official language of the country. In the northeast section of Spain, around Barcelona, Catalan is an official language, as well as Spanish the official language of Spain. In Wales, English and Welsh are both official languages.

The chart below are the languages categorized in their tongues.

Language Chart_edited-2

Europe is very multi-lingual and in some countries they may have several official languages. In addition they may have other languages that are the official language for that region along with the national language. This accommodates minor ethnic groups who have no country but, whose indigenous people’s home has resided within the boundries of another country for many years. This preserves the language by being  taught in schools as well as, used in legal documentation and records.

🇦🇱 Albania

Official: Albanian

Regional: Aromanian, Greek, Macedonian

🇦🇩 Andorra

Official: Catalan

🇦🇹 Austria

Official: German

Regional: Burgenland Croatian, Hungarian, Slovene

🇧🇾 Belarus

Official: Belarusian, Russian

Regional: Polish, Ukrainian, Yiddish

🇧🇪 Belgium

Official: Dutch, French, German

🇧🇦 Bosnia Herzegovina

Official: Bosnian, Croatian, Serbian

🇧🇬 Bulgaria

Official: Bulgarian

🇭🇷 Croatia

Official: Croatian

🇨🇾 Cyprus

Official: Greek, Turkish

Regional: Armenian, Cypriot Arabic

🇨🇿 Czechia

Official: Czech

Regional: Belarusian, Bulgarian, Croatian, German, Greek, Hungarian, Polish, Romani, Russian, Rusyn, Serbian, Slovak, Ukrainian 

🇩🇰 Denmark

Official: Danish

Regional: Faroese, Greenlandic, German

🇪🇪 Estonia

Official: Estonian

🇫🇮 Finland

Official: Finnish, Swedish

Regional: Sámi

🇫🇷 France

Official: French

Regional: Alsatian, Catalan, Basque, Breton, Corsican, Occitan

🇩🇪 Germany

Official: German

Regional: Danish, Frisian, Low German, Romany, Sorbian, Turkish

🇬🇷 Greece

Official: Greek

🇻🇦 Holy See

Official: Latin

Working : French, Italian

🇭🇺 Hungary

Official: Hungarian

🇮🇸 Iceland

Official: Icelandic

🇮🇪 Ireland

Official: Irish, English

🇮🇹 Italy

Official: Italian Co-Official: French, German

Recognized: Arbëresh, Cimbrian, Franco-Provencal, Ladin, Lombard, Mòcheno, Piedmontese, Sardinian, Sicilian, Venetian

🇱🇻 Latvia

Official: Latvian

🇱🇮 Liechtenstein

Official: German

🇱🇹 Lithuania


🇱🇺 Luxembourg

Official: Luxembourgish, French, German

🇲🇹 Malta

Official: Maltese, English

🇲🇩 Moldova

Official: Moldovan, Romanian

🇲🇨 Monaco

Official: French

Regional: Monégasque, Italian, Occitan, English

🇲🇪 Montenegro


Regional: Albanian, Bosnian, Croatian, Serbian

🇳🇱 Netherlands

Official: Dutch

Regional: West Frisian, Papiamento, English

🇲🇰 North Macedonia

Official: Macedonian, Albanian

Regional: Aromanian, Bosnian, Romani, Serbian,Turkish

🇳🇴 Norway

Official:Norwegian, Sámi

Regional: Kven, Romani, Romanes

🇵🇱 poland

Official: Polish

Regional:  Kashubian

🇵🇹 Portugal

Official: Portuguese

Regional: Mirandese

🇷🇴 Romania

Official: Romanian

Regional: Albanian, Armenian, Bulgarian , Czech, German, Greek, Hungarian, Italian, Macedonian,  Polish, Romani, Russian, Ruthenian, Serbian, Slovak, Ukrainian, Yiddish 

🇷🇺 Russia

Official: Russian

Regional: Abaza, Adyghe, Chechen, Crimean Tartar, Kabardian, Ingush, Ossetian, Udmurt, Ukrainian

🇸🇲 San Marino

Official: Italian

🇷🇸 Serbia

Official: Serbian

Regional: Albanian, Bosnian, Bulgarian, Croatian, Hungarian, Romanian, Rusyn, Slovak

🇸🇰 Slovakia

Official: Slovak

🇸🇮 Slovenia

Official: Slovene

Recognized Regional: Hungarian, Italian

🇪🇸 Spain

Official: Spanish

Regional: Basque, Catalan, Galician, Occitan 

🇸🇪 Sweden

Official: Swedish

Regional: Finnish, Meänkieli, Sámi, Romani, Yiddish

🇨🇭 Switzerland

Official: German, French, Italian, Romansh

🇹🇷 Turkey

Official: Turkish

Regional: Arabic, Kabardian,  Kurmanji, Zaza

🇺🇦 Ukraine

Official: Ukrainian

Regional: Belarusian, Bulgarian, Crimean Tartar, Gagauz, German, Greek, Hebrew, Hungarian, Polish, Romanian, Russian, Slovak, Ukrainian, Yiddish 

🇬🇧 UK England

Official: English

Regional: Cornish, French Jèrriais, Irish, Manx, Scots, Ulster Scots, Welsh

🇬🇧 UK 🏴󠁧󠁢󠁳󠁣󠁴󠁿 Scotland

Recognized Languages: English, Scots, Scottish Gaelic

🇬🇧 UK 🏴󠁧󠁢󠁷󠁬󠁳󠁿 Wales

Official: Welsh, English

Before you go learn some common phrases for the language of the country you will be visiting. Locals will appreciate to communicate in their native language. Not to worry many Europeans speak english well. The main languages in most use are Indo-European and non. In addition to the primary languages listed below there are many regional languages spoken in small areas throughout Europe.