Capitols of Cultural

One can not emphasize exactly how much culture Europe has to offer. Europe’s ages of humanism, realism, creativity and exploration pulled Europe out of the dark ages and the rest of the world and human civilization into the modern age.

Greece was the birth of western civilization. Their literary, political, scientific and philosophical principles set it apart from other civilizations. Their formation of city states, government, politics and democracy provided individual identity. As well they provided, cultural contributions to the arts, medicine and sciences.Rome then further made cultural contributes to law, engineering, architecture, language and government.

Europeans would later re-discovered these concepts that would propel Europe into a renaissance of thinking. This would lead to a reformation of religion, exploration and colonization of most of the world and industrialization of society. From the mid 16th century to the 20th century Europe would dominate most of the world politically, militarily and economically.

Most visitor’s go to Europe to experience this array of culture that has evolved through its vast diversity and history over the centuries. Because of this we have categorized areas of interests. You may find some are duplicated because they can come under several classifications. 

Cultural Web Sites…

Capitols of Culture…

European Commission annually designates a city or cities, to exhibit their culture. In the last 30 years starting with Athens in 1985 and member of the EU has been able to participate in this event. According to the European Commission the European Capitals of Culture initiative is designed to:

  • Highlight the richness and diversity of cultures in Europe
  • Celebrate the cultural features Europeans share
  • Increase European citizens’ sense of belonging to a common cultural area
  • Foster the contribution of culture to the development of cities

In addition to this, experience has shown that the event is an excellent opportunity for:

  • Regenerating cities
  • Raising the international profile of cities
  • Enhancing the image of cities in the eyes of their own inhabitants
  • Breathing new life into a city’s culture
  • Boosting tourism

Initially just one city hosted to the event from 1985-1999. In the year 2000 nine cities hosted to celebrate the millenium. Since then there have been years when two or three cities have been hosts. You will note that EU member countries alternate to host the event with cities competing for the opportunity to exhibit their culture.

It is advisable to plan a visit to one of these cities in a year when they are a capital of culture. Special events, attractions, and exhibits will be available that you normally wouldn’t have the opportunity to see or do.

YearCity – CountryYearCity – Country
1985Athens, Greece2016San Sebastián, Spain
1986Florence, Italy2016Wroclaw, Poland
1987Amsterdam, Netherlands2017Aarhus, Denmark
1988Berlin, Germany2017Pafos, Cyprus
1989Paris, France2018Leeuwarden, Netherlands
1990Glasgow, Scotland, UK2018Valletta, Malta
1991Dublin, Ireland2019Matera, Italy
1992Madrid, Spain2019Plovdiv, Bulgaria
1993Antwerp, Belgium2020Rijeka, Croatia
1994Lisbon, Portugal2020Galway, Ireland
1995Luxembourg, Luxembourg2021Timișoara, Romania
1996Copenhagen, Denmark2021Elefsina, Greece
1997Thessaloniki, Greece2021Novi Sad, Serbia
1998Stockholm, Sweden2022Kaunas, Lithuania
1999Weimar, Germany2022Esch, Luxembourg
2000Avignon, France2023TBA – Hungary
2000Bergen, Norway2024TBA – Austria
2000Bologna, Italy2024TBA – Estonia
2000Brussels, Belgium2024TBA – *TBA
2000Helsinki, Finland2025TBA – Slovenia
2000Kraków, Poland2025TBA – Germany
2000Prague, Czechia2026TBA – Slovakia
2000Reykjavik, Iceland2026TBA – Finland
2000Santiago de Compostela, Spain2027TBA – Latvia
2001Rotterdam, Netherlands2027TBA – Portugal
2001Porto, Portugal2027TBA – *TBA
2002Bruges, Belgium2028TBA – Czechia
2002Salamanca, Spain2028TBA – France
2003Graz, Austria2029TBA – Poland
2004Genoa, Italy2029TBA – Sweden
2004Lille, France2030TBA – Cyprus
2005Cork, Ireland2030TBA – Belgium
2006Patras, Greece2030TBA – *TBA
2007Sibui, Romania2031TBA – Malta
2007Luxembourg, Luxembourg2031TBA – Spain
2008Liverpool, England, UK2032TBA – Denmark
2008Stavanger, Norway2032TBA – Bulgaria
2009Vilnius, Luthuania2033TBA – Netherlands
2009Linz,  Austria2033TBA – Italy
2010Essen, Germany 2033TBA – *TBA
2010Pécs, Hungary2034TBA – *TBA 
2010Istanbul, Turkey2034 TBA – *TBA 
2011Turku, Finland2035 TBA – *TBA 
2011Tallinn, Estonia2035 TBA – *TBA 
2012Guimarãres, Portugal2036 TBA – *TBA 
2012Maribor, Slovenia2036 TBA – *TBA 
2013Marseille, France2036 TBA – *TBA 
2013Koišce Slovakia2037 TBA – *TBA 
2014Riga Latvia2037 TBA – *TBA 
2014Umeå Sweden2038 TBA – *TBA 
2015Mons Belgium2038 TBA – *TBA 
2015Plzeň Czechia  

* Starting in 2021 the third city will be a non alternating slot so countries and cities may openly compete against each other. This will also allow cities to re-host every third year, providing they win the competition.